Placed at the University of Montana!

Last Thursday I heard where I have been placed by ISEP: University of Montana, located in Missoula, Montana (United States)!

This university is located in the northeast of the United States and has an enrolment of about 11.000 students. Missoula is a city with about 70.000 inhabitants, and has mild summers and cold winters. Montana is a state that’s full of natural grandeur with mountains and flourishing wildlife.

First: Disappointment
I want to be honest here. When I opened the mail containing this news, I was extremely disappointed, because the University of Montana had been my fifth choice on my top 10. I was quite confident that I would be placed at my first choice, because of my 7.7/10 GPA, my participation in the Honors College, and my TOEFL iBT score of 115/120. I had already tried to find out things and start to prepare for Westminster College, in Salt Lake City. This made the disappointment even greater and it took me a good few days to accommodate to this new reality.

Glad I’m Placed at U of M
However, now that I have done a little more research on the University of Montana, I am actually glad that I am placed there. I’ve done some flip-thinking!

The university is large, which is somewhat intimidating to me, but this also means that there is always something to do. There are over 200 student organizations to join and the university has an outdoor program where you can take part in outdoor sports like rock climbing, whitewater rafting and much more.

Also, I will live in a double room: that means I will have to share the room with another student. Even though this makes me nervous (I now have a room of 16 sq m to myself), this could definitely turn out to be better than a single room. When I’m feeling down and alone, I tend to lock myself up in my room, which strengthens the feelings of homesickness. With a roommate, there is always someone you can’t lock yourself away from, and they can pull you through it and cheer you up.

I really love nature, but I spend most of my time time indoors. At the University of Montana, I hope to bring out my love for the outdoors and spend less time inside. As I mentioned before, they have an outdoors program that facilitates this. The University of Montana is located in the hub of five valleys and three rivers. The surroundings of Missoula are absolutely stunning with a diverse landscape of flat plains, mountains, rivers and lakes. If this doesn’t pull me outdoors, I don’t know what will!

What’s next?
This placement was done by ISEP, and my application is now being reviewed by the University of Montana. This means there is still a small chance they will reject me, however, this hardly ever happens. In a few weeks, when they have hopefully approved my application, I will officially accept my placement. I should receive my ‘Placement Acceptance Package’, containing specific information I need, such as how to obtain a J-1 Student Visa, and what courses I will take (that I then will need to get approved by the Board of Examiners).

Exciting times are ahead! There is still plenty to take care of, but it feels good to know where I will be heading for next semester! Have you ever been to the United States?

Note: I do not own any of these photos. If these are yours, and you want them removed, please let me know.

 

Geef een reactie

